FIFA Awards: Four Germans Available

FIFA-Auszeichnungen: Vier Deutsche stehen zur Wahl

In the election of the best football pros of the year, there will be four Germans to choose from, along with Dortmund’s top scorer Erling Haaland.

national coach gasp flick, chelsea-coach Thomas Tuchel as well as national goalkeeper Manuel Neuer And goalkeeper Ann-Katrin Berger can look forward to awards in the polls for the best soccer pros of the year. Four German players are included in the list of candidates released by FIFA on Monday. The public vote on the homepage of the World Federation runs until 10 December. In early January 2022, the circle will be narrowed down to three finalists, and the awards ceremony will take place on January 17.

world footballer Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich) was nominated again and could repeat his win from the previous year. The Polish striker has to assert himself against ten opponents, among them Erling Haaland (Borussia Dortmund), Lionel Messi (Paris Saint Germain) and Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United) can be found. According to FIFA, the respective candidates were selected by two expert panels for women’s and men’s football.

Former Bayern coach Flick and Champions League winner Tuchel compete with Italy’s European champion coach Roberto Mancini, among others. Jürgen Klopp (Liverpool FC), who won in 2019 and 2020, is missing from the list of seven nominees. Goalkeepers Neuer and Berger, who play for Chelsea, have four opponents each.

candidates at a glance

World Footballer: Stina Blackstenius (Sweden / BK Hacken), Aitana Bonmati (Spain / FC Barcelona), Lucy Bronze (England / Manchester City), Magdalena Ericsson (Sweden / FC Chelsea), Caroline Graham-Hansen (Norway / FC Barcelona), Pernil Harder ( Denmark / Chelsea FC), Jennifer Hermoso (Spain / FC Barcelona), Ji So Yun (South Korea / Chelsea FC), Sam Kerr (Australia / Chelsea FC), Vivian Miedema (Netherlands / Arsenal FC), Ellen White (England / Manchester City), Alexia Putelas (Spain / FC Barcelona), Christine Sinclair (Canada / Portland Thorns)

READ  Dates, schedules, groups, modes and TV broadcasts

World Footballer: Karim Benzema (France / Real Madrid), Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium / Manchester City), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal / Manchester United), Robert Lewandowski (Poland / Bayern Munich), Lionel Messi (Argentina / Paris Saint-Germain), Neymar (Brazil) / Paris Saint Germain), Erling Haaland (Norway / Borussia Dortmund), Jorginho (Italy / Chelsea FC), N’Golo Kante (France / Chelsea FC), Kylian Mbappe (France / Paris Saint Germain), Mohamed Salah ( Egypt / Liverpool FC)

World Coach / Women’s Football: Louise Cortés (Spain / FC Barcelona), Peter Gerhardsson (Sweden / Sweden national team), Emma Hess (England / Chelsea FC), Beverly Priestman (England / Canada national team), Sarina Wigman (Netherlands / England national team)

World Trainer: Antonio Conte (Italy / Tottenham Hotspur), Hansi Flick (Germany / German national team), Pep Guardiola (Spain / Manchester City), Roberto Mancini (Italy / national team Italy), Lionel Sebastian Scaloni (Argentina / national team Argentina), Diego Simeone (Argentina / Atletico Madrid), Thomas Tuchel (Germany / Chelsea FC)

World Goalkeeper: Ann-Katherine Berger (Germany/Chelsea FC), Christiane Endler (Chile/Olympic Lyon), Stephanie Lynn Marie Labe (Canada/Paris Saint-Germain), Hedwig Lindahl (Sweden/Atletico Madrid), Alyssa Nahr (USA/Chicago Red Stars) )

World Goalkeeper: Alisson Baker (Brazil/Liverpool FC), Gianluigi Donnarumma (Italy/Paris Saint-Germain), Edouard Mendy (Senegal/Chelsea FC), Manuel Neuer (Germany/Bayern Munich), Kasper Schmeichel (Denmark/Leicester City)

Written By
More from Leroy Newman
Verstappen wins wild race – Schumacher fights back
The Emilia Romagna Grand Prix in Imola is affected by several accidents....
Read More
Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *