Joule Behrens in a select circle

  1. home page
  2. Play
  3. local sports


of: jens priedmuth

Triathlete Juul Behrens (Königsteiner LV) is one of five nominees for the “Junior Athlete” of the Year award by Deutsche Sporthilf. © Jens Priedmuth

Hochtaunus District (kie). Vote quickly – every vote counts until October 15th! A young athlete from the Taunus club «Junior Athlete of the Year» was one of five nominees from all over Germany for the election.

Jool Behrens, who wears the Königsteiner LV jersey in athletics competitions, focused on her “main sport” last season, the triathlon. The future policeman (for Tria Potsdam) also celebrated great success there. The international success of the KLV athlete began in late 2021 when she won a gold medal in Quartera, Portugal. Behrens, sponsored by Sporthilf, has run “two tracks” since 2020 and celebrates success as a runner on the Tartan track. She still holds the U20 district record over 1500 meters with a time of 4:31.40. But his best times of 9:34.71 minutes over 3,000m and 16:32.74 over 5,000m are also top-class.

Following Portugal’s World Cup title, however, the triathlon became the focus of the sport in the 2022 season. At the Junior World Championships in Montreal, title fights in Canada were changed to a duathlon due to poor water quality, and the 19-year-old won silver at the World Championships. There was also a bronze medal in the mixed relay. Athletics was thrown into the race when it allowed very time-consuming trio training. At the German youth indoor championships in Sindelingen (that’s where the photo was taken), all three specialists were able to put themselves in the spotlight by training outright against pure runners.

READ  Devin Williams named new Polar Bear goalkeeper - SPORTS - NEWS

Voting is on

This time, state police trainees who competed for the title of “Junior Athlete of the Year” also included Annette Kaufmann (table tennis), Leon Ulbricht (snowboard cross), Lisa Spark (biathlon) and Franziska Ritter (speed climbing). were involved. You can vote on the Sporthilfe website until 15 October.

The award has been in existence since 1978, with the most significant award for young talent in the top level national sport. Past winners have included sporting aces such as Michael Gross (1981), Katja Seisinger (1990), Franziska van Almsik (1992), Timo Boll. (1997) and Maria Hoffel-Risk (2004), Magdalena Neuner (2007 and 2008), Laura Dahlmeier (2013) or Decathlon ace Niklas Kaul (2017).

Written By
More from Leroy Newman
Martial Arts Academy Taofit: Powerful Performance! Dresden’s kickboxing elite wins World Cup gold
the champion! Kickboxing trainer Ronnie Schönig and his disciples win medals for...
Read More
Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *