After the disappointment of the third World Cup gold?

After the disappointment of the third World Cup gold?

Curling – The Swiss Curlers could be the first women’s team in history to become world champions for the third time in a row at the World Cup starting Saturday in Prince George, Canada.

Melanie Barbezat, Esther Neuenschwander, Skip Silvana Tirinzoni and Alina Patz took victories in Silkeborg, Denmark in 2019 and Calgary in 2021. The 2020 World Cup was canceled due to the coronavirus pandemic. Prior to Tirinzoni, four Skips had won two consecutive World Championship tournaments: Norwegian Dordi Nordby (1990 and 1991), Canadian Sandra Schmirler-Petersen (1993 and 1994), who died early, as well as Swedes Elisabeth Gustafsson (1998 and 1994). 1999) and Annette Norberg (2005 and 2006).

However, CC Aarau’s curlers would have loved it if they had made history earlier this season and elsewhere. She had all the skills and opportunities to become the first Swiss women’s team to win Olympic gold in Beijing. They were clearly the dominant team in the round robin, before losing the semi-final to Japan with a very weak performance and finally losing the bronze medal match to Sweden.

He was left empty handed after four years focusing on the goal of an Olympic medal. The question is whether they managed to boost their morale in the four weeks between the Olympics and the World Cup. It must be particularly difficult for Alina Patz, who plays in fourth place, as she lags behind her usual performance in the deciding Games in Beijing.

no pressure, no compulsion

At the World Championships in the interior of the Canadian province of British Columbia, it’s all about the title and the medal. Only in 2024 and 2025 the World Cup tournament will be used again for Olympic qualification. In this regard, Swiss women will not feel any pressure or pressure to perform. After the season, the Curlers would decide together if and how the team would continue.

READ  Draw final - Ensures a new version of the national team

The future of other world-class teams such as Sweden (Anna Hasselborg) and Scotland (Eve Muirhead) is also open. While the Swedes compete in Prince George, the British Olympic champion team initially does not. World Cup debutante Rebecca Morrison’s team plays for Scotland. The quartet around Skip Kerry Einarsson, who finished only 5th in Tirinzoni’s World Cup win in 2021, qualified for Canada.

Written By
More from Leroy Newman
EU border protection agency scandal on Frontex: Europe’s borders are a legal void
There are clearly two ways to read the EU Parliament’s latest report...
Read More
Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.