FIFA the Best: Robert Lewandowski and Erling Haaland among the nominees

FIFA the Best: Robert Lewandowski and Erling Haaland among the nominees

National coach Hansi Flick, Chelsea coach Thomas Tuchel as well as national goalkeeper Manuel Neuer and goalkeeper Ann-Katrin Berger can expect awards at ‘FIFA the Best’ in the polls for the best football professionals of the year. Four German players are included in the list of candidates released by FIFA on Monday. The public vote on the homepage of the World Federation runs until 10 December. In early January 2022, the circle will be narrowed down to three finalists, and the awards ceremony will take place on January 17.

World footballer Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich) has been re-nominated and could repeat his win from last year. The Polish striker has to assert himself against ten opponents including Erling Haaland (Borussia Dortmund), Lionel Messi (Paris St. Germain) and Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United). According to FIFA, the respective candidates were selected by two expert panels for women’s and men’s football.

Former Bayern coach Flick and Champions League winner Tuchel compete with Italy’s European champion coach Roberto Mancini, among others. Jürgen Klopp (Liverpool FC), who won in 2019 and 2020, is missing from the list of seven nominees. Goalkeepers Neuer and Berger, who play for Chelsea, have four opponents each.

candidates at a glance

world football player: Stina Blackstenius (Sweden/BK Hacken), Aitana Bonmati (Spain/FC Barcelona), Lucy Bronze (England/Manchester City), Magdalena Ericsson (Sweden/FC Chelsea), Caroline Graham-Hansen (Norway/FC Barcelona), Pernil Harder (Denmark / Chelsea FC), Jennifer Hermoso (Spain / FC Barcelona), Ji So Yun (South Korea / Chelsea FC), Sam Kerr (Australia / Chelsea FC), Vivian Miedema (Netherlands / Arsenal FC), Ellen White (England / Manchester City), Alexia Putelas (Spain/FC Barcelona), Christine Sinclair (Canada/Portland Thorns)

world footballer: Karim Benzema (France / Real Madrid), Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium / Manchester City), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal / Manchester United), Robert Lewandowski (Poland / Bayern Munich), Lionel Messi (Argentina / Paris Saint-Germain), Neymar ( Brazil / Paris Saint Germain), Erling Haaland (Norway / Borussia Dortmund), Jorginho (Italy / Chelsea FC), N’Golo Kante (France / Chelsea FC), Kylian Mbappe (France / Paris Saint Germain), Mohamed Salah (Egypt / Liverpool FC)

World Coach / Women’s Football: Louise Cortés (Spain/FC Barcelona), Peter Gerhardsson (Sweden/Sweden national team), Emma Hess (England/Chelsea FC), Beverly Priestman (England/Canada national team), Sarina Wigman (Netherlands/England national team) )

world coach: Antonio Conte (Italy / Tottenham Hotspur), Hansi Flick (Germany / German national team), Pep Guardiola (Spain / Manchester City), Roberto Mancini (Italy / national team Italy), Lionel Sebastian Scaloni (Argentina / national team Argentina), Diego Simeone (Argentina / Atletico Madrid), Thomas Tuchel (Germany / Chelsea FC)

world goalkeeper: Ann-Katherine Berger (Germany/Chelsea FC), Christiane Endler (Chile/Olympic Lyon), Stephanie Lynn Marie Labe (Canada/Paris Saint-Germain), Hedwig Lindahl (Sweden/Atletico Madrid), Alyssa Nahr (USA/Chicago Red) Stars)

world goalkeeper: Alisson Becker (Brazil/Liverpool FC), Gianluigi Donnarumma (Italy/Paris Saint-Germain), Edouard Mendy (Senegal/Chelsea FC), Manuel Neuer (Germany/Bayern Munich), Kasper Schmeichel (Denmark/Leicester City)

Written By
More from Alec Woods
Police arrested two leaders
IPolice have reportedly arrested two top organizers amid weeks of protests against...
Read More
Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *