Knesset approves travel ban in Germany and the United States

Passagiere am Flughafen Tel Aviv

Israel’s parliament has approved travel bans to Germany, the US and eight other countries. As announced by a spokesperson on Tuesday, the responsible parliamentary committee approved a recommendation by the health ministry to put countries on the red list of travel destinations. Israeli citizens are also banned from traveling to Belgium, Canada, Hungary, Morocco, Portugal, Turkey and Switzerland.

In total, more than 50 states are now on the Israeli government’s red list, including Great Britain, France and Spain. With strict travel restrictions, Israel wants to prevent a strong spread of the Omicron variant in its own country. Prime Minister Naftali Bennett also argued on Sunday that travel restrictions could overshadow the lockdown in Israel.

Above all, the inclusion of the United States on Israel’s Red List is seen as a drastic cut in the close ties between the two countries. Hundreds of thousands of dual citizens live in Israel.

Israel closed its borders for more than a year and a half due to the coronavirus pandemic and did not reopen them to vaccinated travelers until early November. From the end of November, entry to foreigners is again restricted, and special permits must be applied for.

Published: 12/21/2021 – Source: Agence-France-Presse

READ  Karnataka 'drops' chapter on Tipu Sultan in Course 7
Written By
More from Alec Woods
Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *