Russell Wins Ultimate Formula 1 Virtual GP

Russell Wins Ultimate Formula 1 Virtual GP

George Russell (Williams) won the Virtual Canadian Grand Prix in Montreal and thus recorded his fourth consecutive win in the last event of the Sim Racing Series before the start of the original Formula 1 season.

Russell crossed the finish line in a 35 lap race over Circuit Gilles Villanueve ahead of Alexander Albon (Red Bull) and Esteban Gutierrez (Mercedes).

Russell had already gained pole position and then laid the foundation for his victory with a brilliant start. He was never in serious danger during the race and he closed two pits without any problems.

Tension only arose when Albans “race engineer” Marcel Kiefer suspected that Russell might be slow to show fans an exciting duel in the final hiatus. But no result: “I don’t want that!” Albon clarified.

In the end, this was evident as Albone had one of the penalties at times for track limits or pit lane speed. “First, Charles did [Leclerc] Won, then George. I was always second. Just mediocre, ”says the Red Bull driver with humor.

By the way: Pierre Gasli (Alphatouri) performed well as one of the less experienced sim racers, but was disqualified for ignoring several flags – a novelty in the eighth event of the sim season that has now ended .

David Schumacher (Racing Point) could not keep himself in the headlines, but finished the race in a good tenth place. Lewis’s brother Nicholas Hamilton (McLaren) was involved in an early accident and finished in 17th place.

With a win in Montreal, Russell also wins in the overall standings of the virtual Grand Prix, which are now over. This was already evident before today, as his last remaining challenger, Charles Lechler, decided not to start in order to be able to participate in the virtual 24 Hours of Le Mans.

READ  Bobsleigh World Cup: Frederick walks ahead in ice

Race Results (Top 12):

01. George Russell

02. Alexander Albon

03. Esteban Gutierrez

04. Cao Collet

05. Timatmarduk

06. Zhou Guanyu

07. Nicholas Latifi

08. Anthony Davidson

09. Callum Ellot

10. David Schumacher

11. Pietro Fitipaldi

12. Luis Detraz

Previous winners:

Manama / Bahrain (March 22): Zoe Guanu (Renault)

Melbourne / Australian (5th April): Charles Lecler (Ferrari)

Shanghai / China (April 19): Charles Lecler (Ferrari)

Sao Paulo / Brazil (3 May): Alexander Alban (Red Bull)

Barcelona / Spanish (10.mai): George Russell (Williams)

Monte Carlo / Monaco (24. Mai): George Russell (Williams)

Baku / Azerbaijan (7 June): George Russell (Williams)

Montreal / Canada (14. June): George Russell (Williams)

Written By
More from Leroy Newman
When Antibiotics Don’t Work: Phages Help “Nightmare” Infections
When Antibiotics Don’t Work Phages help with “nightmare” transitions 6/11/2022, 4:56 PM...
Read More
Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *