Pope Francis announces 21 new cardinals

Pope Francis announces 21 new cardinals

In Saint Peter’s Square, Pope Francis announced the names of several new cardinals. Some of them are thus given the right to vote on the next head of the church.

Pope Francis will grant cardinal status to 21 clergy at the end of August. The head of the Catholic Church announces the names of believers in St. Peter’s Square after the prayer of Regina Colli.

Of these, 16 new cardinals, all under the age of 80, are expected to elect a new pontiff at a conference. There is no German-speaking priest or bishop among the chosen ones. To welcome the new members the conciliary – that is, the assembly of the cardinals – will take place in Rome on 27 August.

The new 16 cardinals with voting rights at the conclave include Arthur Roche (Britain) and Lazaro Yu Hyung-sik (South Korea) as prefects of the two congregations in the Roman Curia, and Fernando Vergás Alzaga (Spain) as head of the Vatican state administration. Are included. , There is also the Archbishop of Marseille, Jean-Marc Avelin, and other clergy from Europe, Africa, Asia, North and South America.

Appointment affects next papal election

A pope has a free hand in appointing cardinals, and any ordained priest may be admitted to the College of Cardinals. Through the creation of that college, a pontifex can influence the next conclave and thus the choice of its successor – a papal one must be found from among the cardinals.

Written By
More from Cary Payne
Asylum applications apparently in Belarus: Poland reports border guards missing
Friday 17 December 2021 Apparently asylum applications in Belarus Poland reports border...
Read More
Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.